Starting an Arts Ministry – Praise Dance, Pantomime, Drama

Starting and Arts Ministry

 

“Except the Lord build the house, they labour in vain that build it: the watchman waketh but in vain.”

Psalms 127:1

 

The truth of the matter is no one starts a ministry or should try to start a ministry. God is the one who starts ministries and gives the workers the grace to operate in it. A great example of this is in the book of Nehemiah. God made all of the provisions and graced Nehemiah to rebuild the walls of the city in Jerusalem. God had put it in his heart to do it (Nehemiah 2:12).

 

To read more on our new blog site click here

10 comments on “Starting an Arts Ministry – Praise Dance, Pantomime, Drama

  1. Hi,
    Your method of sharing information to assist in the development of an individual by extention the body of Christ was remarkable and I guest timely for me.

    I was asked to lead our first pantomime ministry at our church. I was reluctant at first but the pastor insisted that I take up the challenge.

    The information will be helpful for me.

    All the best your endeavours as you press on to develop the boby of Christ.

    Can you direct me where to puchase ballet shoes as well as dvd’s on pantomime to be used in our rehearsal sessions. I live in Trindad (Caribbean)

    Servant

  2. Bless the Lord! Your comment is very encouraging. For ballet shoes, I think it would be best to locate a dance supply store nearest you to avoid high shipping costs. As for dvd’s on pantomime, I highly suggest dvd’s from K&K mime. They are the fathers of mime ministry. You will learn so much just by watching their dvd’s: how they engage their audience, facial expressions & movements (they will demonstrate as they are ministering how to use everyday gestures, and synonyms of the words in the song through interpretive movement. For instance, sometimes we want to demonstrate the word like “cross” exactly by crossing our arms. If you watch them closely they will perform a totally different movement in a more expressive way and the audience will totally comprehend the meaning. You will say to yourself..”oh wow I never would have thought of that”. You can learn a lot from them and other ministries as well. On this site there is a link to sign languages and biblical sign expression. They will help you out tremendously. Also check out Youtube. you can learn interpretative vocabulary from them also and best of all, it is FREE. I am praying for you and your ministry and if you have any more questions please feel free to ask here (just put for your eyes only if you don’t want it to be published).

  3. I TRULY APPRECIATED YOUR INSIGHTFUL ADVICE ON PRAISE DANCE.IT SOMETHING THAT I THOUGHT I HAD NEED TO BE CONFIRMED.I HAVE BEEN THE PRAISE DANCE LEADER AT MY CHURCH FOR ABOUT 10 YRS.I DESIRE TO EXPAND OUR TEAM BUT THERE SEEMS TO BE LACK OF COMMITMENT TO THE TEAM ONCE THE INDIVIDUAL STARTS TO DANCE(IE COMING TO PRAYER,FASTING AND EXCERCIZE) PLEASE PRAY THE PRAYER OF AGREEMENT WITH ME ..THAT GOD WOULD SEND COMMITTED,WILLING WORKERS.

  4. Praise God for you and the vision that He has given you for this ministry. I found your information very helpful and informative for the drama-arts ministry at my home church. Much of what the Lord has laid upon your heart to speak is already in place, but we could never say when it is enough when we are in the kingdom building business. Please pray for our continued growth and commitment to the work of the Lord. Peace and blessings, Gail Woodson, director of Jeremiah’s Call Drama Arts Ministry.

  5. Thank you so much for your information on how to start an arts ministry. I have been chosen to start my churches first mime ministry. I am a solo mimer and am skeptical about being able to teach others the art but I want to be obedient. The information that you have shared on this site will help me tremendously.

  6. Praise god for this site on how to start a dance or drama ministry. I am the drama coordinator of my church based in nigeria and I also dance and do rap music I mean xtian rap. well I just want you to give some tips on how to develop this gift in me also to bring about growth in the drama unit of my church. Also to say the truth I always found my self sometimes too reluctant to bring up a drama story and even write lyrics or even if i should start, to complete the lyrics up to the required number of verses will b too difficult for me, i guess i’ve been too lazy and i always wait for what i call inspiration to come while carrying it in my heart for too long a time. Even now i have more than four songs for me to complete i just always feel too reluctant to write. Pls help me out I don’t want this gift to die this is urgent and requires urgent attention pls. remember the my drama ministry also. Thanks and God bless you.

    • Hi Hun, You develop your gift by doing. The more you do it be more you will learn and gain an understanding. If you really want to do it you will. Fight that procrastination and seek God in His Word and He will lead you. Be blessed

      PDCM

  7. Hello,

    Is it out of the will of God starting a praise dance ministry based on 1 invitaion? Also is wise to do so if the Leader of the ministry does not have a local church home?

  8. I loved this site! I was born wanting to become an actress on the big screen or t.v. but it never happened. I was raised in church and have served God and worked in different churches along with my older sister’s in Kid’s Crusades and vacation Bible Schools with puppets and clowning and singing. ministries. I loved all of this, but still felt that God was leading me into something more or different. I was given the opportunity to take a sign language class and then I knew in my heart what God was calling me to do. I took the sign language, along with christian songs and just elaborated on my signs and the door was opened for me to do a sign language type solo drama in church as if I were the soloist for that service. I can’t explain what I feel when I’m signing but that God’s annointing is there. Later, God opened another door for me to teach kids, teens and mixed-age groups christian drama, dance, christian skits, monologues. I had the opportunity to go to several christian drama conferences and I knew I had found my calling. I have been involved with mime, human video, pantomime, dance, syncronized. creative movements, and skits I used all kinds of materials and props to get the message from the words of a song in visual form. I am older now and have always wanted to open a studio and teach others what I have learned and God has given me. I want to share my ministry. Do you know if there are any studios like this or anyone that has done this and had any success? I’m in Alabama! Thanks and God Bless!

  9. I am a liturgical danc instructor. I was born and raised right here in the SE DC area, were they say SE children will never be anything when i was growing up. So as a part of my giving back I currently volunteer my time by teach dancing at A rec center in SE DC, that has about 22 girls. I love doing what I do, going out to the communities such as performing at nursing homes, retirement homes, rehab centers,hospitals, community day or whereever invited to are most of the things I will do just to give back to the community. I also teach liturgical dancing at the church I attend. I have beeen dancing since i was 5 years old, and lirturgical dancing for 15 years. With MY LORD AND SAVIOR JESUS CHRIST we are goung to take liturgical dancing to a higher level….THANK YOU JESUS

Leave a Reply

